Vancouver Psychic and Healing Fair

So the other day I went to a psychic fair. I really don’t have much to say about it! It was quite a disappointment. I was hoping to record some of the conversations I had with the exhibitors, but the background noise plus the emptiness of their arguments would have made any recording not worth the bandwidth. See Blogosaurus for a summary.

The only thing I can really add is just to emphasize again the utter lack of substance in the newage arguments. At least religious apologists have spent a lot of time and effort constructing complex and seemingly airtight arguments. Now, I  believe they can be refuted, but it takes a skilled debater to find the chink in the armour of an apologist, and often, by formal debating standards, the apologist comes out on top.

With these psychic healers and clairvoyants, there isn’t even an argument to dispute! The concept of evidence is nonexistent. Technical, scientific words are flung with abandon like shit in the chimp cage on burrito Tuesday.  I didn’t even get the sense that it was in any way malicious. I think everyone there was totally honest. The prices of their wares were not outrageous, they weren’t attempting any hard sells, it seemed like they were just trying to support a modest lifestyle by selling absurd bullshit that they totally believe works, yet can’t defend with a shred of credible evidence.

OK, now I’m just ranting, which isn’t what I wanted to do. Really, I have nothing to say. Hopefully these guys offer a more substantial windmill against which to tilt.

~ by jbrydle on July 25, 2009.

4 Responses to “Vancouver Psychic and Healing Fair”

  1. How disappointing. I toyed with the idea of going and seeing what I could stir up for my own entertainment.
    Seems to me that the SGU guys tried the same thing and had similarly unfulfilling results.

  2. […] the largest newage and spiritual convention of the year. A few months ago I went to a little community psychic fair. I expected the expo to be like that, but much much bigger. Well, it was bigger, but frankly, not […]

  3. Hello mates, its impressive piece of writing concerning teachingand
    completely explained, keep it up all the time.

  4. Pretty element of content. I just stumbled upon your
    site and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing on your feeds and even I success you
    get right of entry to consistently rapidly.

Leave a Reply

 
